I’m On My Way

I spent the last couple nights sleeping on a gigantic, 80-pound bean bag at Chapman University in sunny Orange County, where my friend Phil attends film school. I had a ton of fun out there, and it felt good to get a taste of the college life, since I’m missing out on it right now. Even though we didn’t do anything notable or crazy exciting, just hanging out in the dorms and going to the beach, it was a great time and incredibly relaxing… and I certainly didn’t take the sunshine, warm weather, and blue skies for granted, as I probably won’t be seeing those for a long time πŸ™‚

I love the carefree attitude that everyone seems to have in the dorms. When the roommates come home to find a hammock set up in the kitchen, rather than say anything about it or take it down, someone will just end up crashing there for the night.

On the drive from Orange County to LA, I saw both the Goodyear Blimp, in it’s parking spot, AND the famous Randy’s Donuts, which happens to be pretty close to LAX.

Right now I’m writing this post from the airport in Vancouver… definitely one of the nicer airports I have been in. The staff is very friendly (except for you, border control agent), and its interesting to note that none of the security in here is carrying firearms. Strangely enough, this makes me feel MORE safe, not less. When I try to watch certain Youtube videos, it won’t let me because you can only access them from the USA. That’s still better than China, though, where the government blocks ALL Youtube access.

Anyways, I’ll be in Beijing in approximately 12 hours. I’m pretty sure the plane is going to warp through time and I will get to see the end of this day and all the way through the night, and then land in Beijing at 2 in the afternoon on Monday (tomorrow). I’m totally excited and I’m sure it will be a blast! Keep checking back to see more of my adventures, and if you’d like to receive an email whenever a new post goes up, there’s a little box at the bottom of the page to do so.

再见 zai jian

PS- Some goals I have for when I’m in China:

1. Become immersed in and hopefully understand more about the Chinese culture.

2. Become fluent in Chinese, both written and spoken.

3. Have experiences and make great friends I will remember for the rest of my life.

4. Become more open minded about the ways other cultures do things, and try to understand why they think they way they do.

4 Responses to I’m On My Way

  1. Peg says:

    Jake, I am inspired by your sense of adventure and your willingness to live “outside the box.” Best of luck in your new assignment. I can’t wait to read more from you.
    Peg

  2. Mom says:

    Be safe and “go confidently in the direction of your dreams.” Love you so much. Mom

  3. Dad says:

    Hopefully you are settled in Beijing and recovering from your jet lag. Have a great adventure! We are proud of you.

    Love,
    Dad

  4. The Websters says:

    WOW! We are so excited and happy for you, Jake. We’re looking forward to living a vicarious thrill and traveling with you. Looking forward to your next post!

    Theresa, Richard, Alex and Ryan

Leave a Reply

