My New Apartment

Sorry for the really long time between updates!

It feels pretty great to have my own place now, even if there are roaches and the bathroom (which is shared by five people) is completely filthy. It’s a piece of crap, but it’s my piece of crap, and I love it. I lucked out on my roommate situation; there happens to be a young American guy living in my apartment who is here doing the exact same thing as I am, in addition to one other guy and four girls, and a baby. I was hoping to at least have a roommate who spoke English, but the fact that I got an American I can also share culture with makes it all the better. The apartment is also only a five minute walk from a subway station, and just ten from Alvin & Valery’s campus. Here’s what it looked like when I first moved in:

 

I live on the 8th floor

 

 

And here it is, the next day, after a shopping trip to Ikea and a local market where I got to practice my bargaining skills, which definitely are not up to PAR:

 

The girly wall decorations are left over from the previous tenant… I’ve decided to leave them up until I can get something better to throw on there, because it’s better than having bare walls.

I’ve been going to job interviews like crazy… I’ve been to about ten, I would estimate, with one more per day for the next two days. A lot of places just keep your information and then students will request to meet you and you give them a lesson and they decide whether or not to hire you. Even though I’m on retainer in five different places (or more, I’m really losing track of all the different language schools I’ve been to), I haven’t had much teaching activity going on.

Anyways, I’m having a great time over here, and enjoying every minute. I’ll try not to wait so long before my next post!

3 Responses to My New Apartment

  1. Evette Shileny says:

    Hi Jake! It is so fun to read your posts and hear what you are doing! You really amaze me – your willingness to go with the flow, etc. I am impressed with what you’ve accomplished! Take care, and good luck with those roaches in the bathroom – yuk!

    Love and Blessings,
    Evette

  2. The Websters says:

    Not bad, for a piece of crap! Heck, your room looks a lot neater/cleaner than either of the Webster boys’. At least I can say we’re sans roaches!

    Reading about your trip provides the BEST vicarious thrill. Keep the posts coming!

    Theresa and family

  3. Dad says:

    Jake, I like your new apartment. I still remember how exciting it is to move into your first place. Of course, I only moved 200 miles from home, not 6775 miles! Have fun and keep us posted on what you’re up to.

    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

